For the Peace of Mind
Posted by Narendrabhai Narottambhai Lad on June 11, 2003

I attend the ten day yog Sadhana sibir at VIPASSANA –DHAMMAGIRI – IGATPURI – Maharastra, India in which what I experienced that I try to wrote you.

Respected Vadilo, Brothers , sisters and all samajo people

I attend the ten day yog Sadhana sibir at VIPASSANA –DHAMMAGIRI – IGATPURI – Maharastra, India in which what I experienced that I try to wrote you.

The Buddha taught the middle path. Buddha taught that seekers of truth must avoid two extremes- that of the path of sensual pleasure and that of extreme penance or austerity. This middle path he explained by means of the four Noble Truths and the Eightfold path.
The four Noble Truths
1. There is suffering.
2. Suffering has a cause Craving.
3. If Craving ceases , suffering ceases.
4. There is a path leading to the cessation of suffering.
This path leading to the cessation to the suffering is the eightfold. It is divided into three division of Sila- Moral Living, Samadhi – Control of the mind, and Panna- total purification of the mind by wisdom and insight.
The eightfold Path.

WISDOM (panna)
1. Right View (samma - ditthi)
2. Right Thought (samma - sarnkappo)

Moral Coduct(sila)

3. Right Speech (SAmma - vaca)
4. Right Action (Samma – kammanto)
5. Right Livelihood(samma – Ajivo)

Control of Mind.

6. Right effort. (Samma – vayamo)
7. Right Awareness(Samma – sati)
8. Right concentration(Samma – samadhi)

“With ignorance and craving as our companions , we have been flowing in the strean of repeated existence from time immemorial . We come into existence and experience various types of miseries, die and are reborn again and again without putting an end to this unbroken process of becoming.” The Buddha said that this is Samsar.
He further said : “Rightly understanding the perils of this process , realizing fully ‘craving’ as its cause, becoming from the past accumulations and not creating new ones in the future, one should mindfully lead the life of detachment.” One whose craving is uprooted finds his mind has become serene and achievees a state where there is no becoming at all. This is the state of nibbana , freedom from suffering.

There are twelve interconnected links in the circular chain of becoming :

· Dependent on ignorance (avijja) , reactions (sankhara) arise,
· Dependent on reaction , consciousness (vinnana) arises,
· dependent on consciousness , mind and body (nama –rupa) arises,
· dependent on mind and body , the six sense doors (salayatana) arises,
· dependent on six sense door, contact (phassa) arises,
· dependent on contact, sensation (vedana) arises,
· dependent on sensation , craving (tanha) arises,
· dependent on craving , clinging (upadana) arises,
· dependent on clinging , becoming (bhava) arises,
· dependent on becoming , birth (jati) arises,
· dependent on birth , decay and death ( jara ,marana) arise.
This shows that depending on one , there is the origin of the other . The former serves as the cause , and the latter resukts as the effect. This chain is the process responsible for our misery. By the practice of vipassana meditation this process can be stopped.
I just completed this practice of ten days and I realize that this practice also helpful all human beings that are suffering from tension of day by day life .
If you wish to join then please visit
e-mail :

Students wishing to learn Vipassana meditation undergo a minimum ten-day course, during which time they take precepts not to kill, not to steal , not to commit sexual misconduct, not to speak lies, and to refrain from intoxicants. For the entire ten days they live within the course site. Each day beings at 4.30am and continues until 9.00pm, with breaks.

There are 0 additional comments.


Send your news items to be posted to

If you have any questions or comments about this web site, send mail to Bhavin Mistry.    
© 1997-2003 Prajaapati Vishva Aashram Foundation.    
Site Design by Helios Logistics Inc.